Welcome Concert and Reception
  • Date: Thursday 7th October 2021
  • Venue: The Red House, Aldeburgh
  • Event Start Time: Reception 6:00pm, Concert 7:00pm (doors open at 5pm)
  • Ticket Price: £15
Buy Tickets Online

Welcome Reception and Concert

Thursday 7th October 2021 - Reception 6:00pm, Concert 7:00pm
The Red House, Aldeburgh

John Turner, recorders
Richard Simpson, oboe
Janet Simpson, piano

Peter Hope: Recorder Sonata

William Alwyn: Oboe Sonata

Antony Hopkins: Pastiche Suite

John Purser: Skye Blue (world premiere)

Peter Hope: Oboe Sonata

All ticket holders are welcome to meet and chat to the performers in the homely setting of Benjamin Britten’s Red House before the concert.

The concert will last for approximately one hour, with no interval

John Turner is one of the leading recorder players of today. He now devotes his time to playing, writing, reviewing, publishing, composing and generally energising. He has played as recorder soloist with the Halle Orchestra, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, the Manchester Camerata, and many other leading orchestras and ensembles. Concertos and works with orchestra have been written for him by Gordon Crosse, Anthony Gilbert, Peter Hope, Kenneth Leighton, Elis Pehkonen, Alan Bullard, John Casken, Philip Wood, and many other distinguished composers.

Richard Simpson studied at the Royal College of Music with Sydney Sutcliffe. After his studies, he was appointed principal oboe of the BBC Symphony Orchestra, a post he held for only one year, when he was invited to be principal oboe of the Halle Symphony Orchestra. He remained for 18 years with the Halle Orchestra, performing many times as a soloist. In 1991, Richard Simpson returned to the BBC Symphony Orchestra for 27 years as principal oboe. Passionate about chamber music, Richard Simpson has been invited to perform at many European festivals. Together with his wife, Janet and with Michael Cox, the principal flute of the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Richard Simpson has established the “Syrinx Trio”.

Janet Simpson studied with Cyril Smith at the Royal College of Music. Shortly after leaving college she was appointed principal keyboard player in the Halle Orchestra, a position she held for over 30 years. During that time she toured extensively and was involved in numerous recordings and broadcasts. She also appeared many times as a soloist with the orchestra. Now living in London, Janet continues to perform regularly as a chamber music player and as an accompanist, and has become increasingly involved in contemporary music, frequently performing in the Music of our Time series with players from the Philharmonia Orchestra, as well as playing in many concerts with the BBC Symphony Orchestra, including work by composers as diverse as Pierre Boulez and Louie Andriessen. Janet was delighted to accompany her husband Richard in the first performance of Peter Hope’s Oboe Sonata in a concert to celebrate the life of Lady Barbirolli in Manchester’s Bridgewater Hall in 2009.