HomePage 6
  • Date: Friday 4th October 2019
  • Venue: St. Edmund's Church, Southwold
  • Event Start Time: 7:30pm (doors open at 7:00pm)
  • Ticket Price: £15 reserved, £12 unreserved

The Gildas Quartet and Nathan Williamson

Friday 4th October 2019 - 7:30pm
St. Edmund's Church, Southwold

Mozart: String Quartet in C major, K.465 – ‘Dissonance’
Alwyn: String Quartet no.2 – ‘Spring Waters’ (1975)
Cheryl Frances-Hoad: My Day in Hell (2010)
Elgar: Piano Quintet in A minor, op.84 (1919)

A typically diverse programme begins this year’s festival, with no one better to deliver it than the prize-winning Gildas Quartet. Noted for their ‘energy, verve and refreshing approach’ and equal emphasis on new works and those from the chamber music canon, they have performed across the UK and, increasingly, worldwide, to great acclaim. They will be joined by their long-standing friend and collaborator, Southwold-based pianist Nathan Williamson, for Elgar’s Piano Quintet, one of the greatest of all romantic chamber works.