Festival Finale: Prometheus Orchestra
  • Date: Friday 8th October 2021
  • Venue: St Edmund's Church, Southwold
  • Event Start Time: 7:30pm (doors open at 7:00pm)
  • Ticket Price: £15
Buy Tickets Online

The Gildas Quartet

Friday 8th October 2021 - 7:30pm
St Edmund's Church, Southwold

with Nathan Williamson, piano

Franz Joseph Haydn: Quartet in G major, op.76 no.1

William Alwyn: Quartet no.1 in D minor


Peter Dickinson: Three Pieces for String Quartet (2020)

Antonín Dvořák: Piano Quintet in A major, op.81

Interval refreshments will be available 

The concert will last approximately two hours, including interval

A typically original programme from the  ground-breaking Gildas Quartet, ranging from iconic works of the chamber music repertoire through to a recent work by Suffolk-based composer Peter Dickinson. Widely praised for their ‘energy, verve and refreshing approach’ the Quartet have performed at major venues to critical acclaim, and during the pandemic they have continued to reach new audiences through innovative online concerts, masterclasses and presentations. They are joined by long-standing friend and collaborator, pianist Nathan Williamson, in Dvořák’s scintillating Piano Quintet.