Discoveries: new works for recorders 3
  • Date: Wednesday 9th October 2019
  • Venue: The Red House, Aldeburgh
  • Event Start Time: Reception 6:30pm, Concert 7:00pm (doors open at 6:30pm)
  • Ticket Price: £10 including reception and concert

Discoveries: new works for recorders

Wednesday 9th October 2019 - Reception 6:30pm, Concert 7:00pm
The Red House, Aldeburgh

John Turner, Laura Robinson, recorders
Nathan Williamson, piano

Lennox Berkeley: Three pieces for two recorders (world premiere)
William Alwyn: Chaconne for Tom (1982)
Michael Berkeley: Haiku (solo piano)
Igor Stravinsky: Lullaby for two recorders
Peter Dickinson: Elegiac canons
William Alwyn: Prelude no.5, In Memoriam (solo piano)
Elis Pehkonen: Suffolk Bells
G. F. Handel: Sonata in F for two recorders and continuo

During his extraordinary career John Turner has commissioned and inspired hundreds of new works as well as unearthing, editing and publishing many more gems otherwise lost to posterity – including a Sonata by Handel and – heard here for the first time – several shorter pieces by Lennox Berkeley. A range of other 20th century and contemporary music, including works written specially for John by Suffolk-based composers Peter Dickinson and Elis Pekhonen, compliment these unearthed treasures. All ticket holders are welcome to meet and chat to the performers in the homely setting of Benjamin Britten’s Red House before the concert.