‘Aphrodite’ - Two pianos
  • Date: Saturday 9th October 2021
  • Venue: Holy Trinity Church, Blythburgh
  • Event Start Time: 4pm (doors open at 3:30pm)

‘Aphrodite’ – Two pianos

Saturday 9th October 2021 - 4pm
Holy Trinity Church, Blythburgh

Gustav Holst: Mars the Bringer of War, from the Planets (arr. for 2 pianos by Holst)

Elis Pehkonen: Aphrodite (world premiere)

Gustav Holst: Venus the Bringer of Peace 

Alwyn: Two Intermezzi for 2 pianos 

Leonard Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Alexander Karpeyev, featured as ‘One to watch’ in International Piano magazine, is a Russian pianist resident in the UK, who has performed throughout the UK and Europe and toured in the USA, Canada and Russia as a concerto soloist, recitalist and chamber musician.

Karpeyev trained at the Moscow Conservatory with Vera Gornostayeva and Alexander Mndoyants and the Guildhall School of Music & Drama under Joan Havill. He is the winner of the Dudley International Piano Competition as well as the Norah Sande Award and the holder of a Silver Medal from the Worshipful Company of Musicians. In 2014 he completed a performance practice doctoral degree at the City University, based on the Edna Iles Medtner Collection at the British Library. Karpeyev is often asked to give masterclasses and lectures on Russian performing practice.

Nathan Williamson is a pianist, composer and artistic director. Alongside regular solo, chamber and concerto performances, Nathan is in demand for new work from a wide variety of artists both at home and abroad. He also stages and facilitates projects at local and national level, ranging from collaborations on new repertoire, performances for the concert hall and theatre, and music-making activities for musicians of all ages and abilities.

Nathan’s career has led to performances at Wigmore Hall, Carnegie Hall, Amsterdam Concertgebouw, De Doelen, Barbican Centre, Purcell Room, LSO St Luke’s, and the Aldeburgh, Lucerne, Bolzano and Spoleto festivals, and collaborations with artists including Claire Bloom, James Gilchrist, Guy Johnston, Arisa Fujita, Linda Merrick, The Gryphon Trio, Njabulo Madlala, Boris Kucharsky, Alexander Baillie, Ensemble Endymion, the Allegri and Sacconi Quartets, as well as working alongside numerous living composers in performances of their work. Since 2016 Nathan has been a member of the renowned new music ensemble Piano Circus who, alongside their position as artists-in-residence at Brunel University London, have commissioned over 100 new works from leading composers and undertake regular international tours.